2024 Colorado Legislative Session Update

Colorado River District staff works to maintain a regular presence at the Colorado State Capitol throughout the state legislative session. Position decisions on upcoming legislation are informed by the Board of Directors during bi-weekly meetings throughout the session. Stakeholders and members of the public are encouraged to attend those meetings. To register for the zoom link, please email Stephanie Moore, Executive Assistant, at “smoore@crwcd.org.”

The second regular session of Colorado’s 74th General Assembly was convened at 10AM on January 10, 2024. It will run the subsequent 120 calendar days with adjournment sine die scheduled for no later than midnight on May 8, 2024.

At their January quarterly meeting, Zane Kessler, Director of Government Relations, informed the River District’s board that while the legislature saw some changes due to resignations last fall, the playing field for West Slope water interests remains largely the same as in 2023.


The Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee, which serves as the committee of reference for legislation concerning water, agriculture, wildlife, and recreation, will continue to be chaired by Sen. Dylan Roberts (D-Eagle). The full committee membership is included below:

Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee (4-3)

Chair, Dylan Roberts D-Eagle

Vice Chair, Nick Hinrichsen D-Pueblo

Janice Marchman D-Loveland

Kevin Priola D-Brighton

Cleave Simpson (Ranking Minority Member) R-Alamosa

Rod Pelton R-Cheyenne Wells

Byron Pelton R-Sterling

The make-up of the House Agriculture, Livestock, & Water Committee will also remain largely the same, with Rep. Karen McCormick (D-Longmont) serving as Chair and Rep. Marc Catlin (R-Montrose) as Vice Chair.

The full make-up of the House Ag Committee is included below:

House Agriculture, Water, and Natural Resources Committee (9-4)

Chair, Karen McCormick D-Longmont

Vice Chair, Marc Catlin R-Montrose

Richard Holtorf R- Akron

Mandy Lindsay D- Aurora

Meghan Lukens D- Steamboat Springs

Mike Lynch R- Wellington

Matthew Martinez D- Monte Vista

Julia Marvin D- Thornton

Barbara McLachlan D- Durango

Tammy Story D- Conifer

Brianna Titone D- Arvada

Elizabeth Velasco D- Glenwood Springs

Ty Winter R-Trinidad